Annual General Meeting Holcim Ltd


  • 1,142 actionnaires présents ont votésen faveur de toutes les propositions du Conseil d’administration, en grande majorité
  • Wolfgang Reitzle élu nouveau président du Conseil d’administration
  • Approbation du versement de 1.30 CHF par capital social enregistré de la réserve d’apport en capital
  • Rapport de rémunération approuvé par les actionnaires dans le vote consultatif

Representing 66.94 percent of the company’s share capital, the 1,142 shareholders attending the 102nd ordinary Annual General Meeting of Holcim Ltd today approved all motions proposed by the Board of Directors with large majorities.

The shareholders approved the payout from capital contribution reserves of CHF 1.30 per registered share. The payment will take place on May 7, 2014. The remuneration report was approved in an advisory vote by shareholders representing approximately 93.98 percent of the share capital. The annual report and the annual financial statements of the Group and of Holcim Ltd also received approval from shareholders.

The shareholders followed the Board of Director’s proposal announced earlier and elected Wolfgang Reitzle as Chairman of the Board of Directors with 98.64 percent of the votes. He takes over from Rolf Soiron who, after being Chairman for the past 11 years and a member of the Board of Directors for 20 years, did not stand for re-election. The Board of Directors would like to thank Rolf Soiron for his many years of valuable service to the Group as well as all his efforts, which were instrumental to Holcim's success.
In line with the Ordinance against Excessive Compensation in Public Corporations (OaEC), each member of the Board of Directors and the members of the Nomination & Compensation Committee proposed by the Board of Directors were re-elected individually by the shareholders for a term of office of one year. Erich Hunziker and Andreas von Planta did not stand for re-election. The Board of Directors thanks Erich Hunziker and Andreas von Planta for their many valuable contributions to the Group.

Jürg Oleas was newly elected to the Board of Directors. He is the CEO of GEA Group AG, a Dusseldorf-based mechanical engineering company listed on Germany's MDAX stock index. GEA Group is one of the largest system suppliers for the food processing industry and a wide range of other process industries. Jürg Oleas has been a member of the GEA executive board since joining the company in May 2001. Initially responsible for the group's chemical activities, he was appointed CEO of GEA Group on November 1, 2004. Before joining GEA Group, he spent nearly 20 years with ABB and the Alstom Group, where he held several management positions. Jürg Oleas is a Swiss national.

The mandate of Ernst & Young Ltd as auditors was confirmed, and Dr Thomas Ris was elected as independent proxy.

Composition of the bodies until the next ordinary Annual General Meeting in 2015:

Board of Directors:
Wolfgang Reitzle (Chairman), Beat Hess, Alexander Gut, Adrian Loader, Jürg Oleas, Thomas Schmidheiny, Hanne Birgitte Breinbjerg Sørensen, Dieter Spälti, Anne Wade

Nomination & Compensation Committee:
Adrian Loader, Wolfgang Reitzle, Thomas Schmidheiny, Hanne Birgitte Breinbjerg Sørensen

* * * * * * *
Holcim is one of the world's leading suppliers of cement and aggregates (crushed stone, gravel and sand) as well as further activities such as ready-mix concrete and asphalt including services. The Group holds majority and minority interests in around 70 countries on all continents.
* * * * * * *
Corporate Communications: Tel. +41 58 858 87 10
Investor Relations: Tel. +41 58 858 87 87
* * * * * * *